What You Need To Know About Having Auto Insurance In Massachusetts

August 7, 2019

Massachusetts: the home of the Red Sox and clam chowder. Also home of some of the nations highest auto insurance rates. Though a small state, Massachusetts is populated of almost 7 million people. Of those 7 million, there are about 4.5 million licensed drivers who drive an average 11,000 miles a year.

The risks for drivers in Massachusetts is higher than majority of other states. According to the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation (OCABR), the state of Massachusetts has more property damage and bodily injury claims per vehicle than almost all states. When claims increase, the cost of coverage follows.

Why does Massachusetts have so many claims that are raising insurance rates? It’s believed that the reason is because many drivers are operating vehicles in very dense populated and urban areas that lead to the likelihood of involvement in a traffic accident.

We’ve got what you need to know about Massachusetts auto insurance and how to get the best price.

What’s the minimum coverage?

Massachusetts state law requires you to carry a mimimim amount of insurance. Failure to do so could result in large penalties and even jail time. Massachusetts is also a no-fault state. That means your insurance will pay your injury claims up to a specified limit, regardless of who caused the accident. However, you lose some of your rights to sue for damages under no-fault system.

The minimum coverage in the state of Massachusetts includes:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person per accident
  • $40,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
  • $5,000 property damage liability
  • $8,000 personal injury protection

Massachusetts does not require you to carry additional coverage such as Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist or Collision and Comprehensive

Penalties for not carrying auto insurance in Massachusetts

You are required by law to carry auto insurance if you are a licensed driver in Massachusetts. If you are pulled over by an officer without auto insurance, you could be fined anywhere from $500-$5,000. You may even be subject up to a year in jail – or both. Your driver’s license could be suspended for up to 60 days along with your registration and plate tags.

Auto Insurance Premiums in Massachusetts

Insurance companies will charge premiums and award discounts based on:

  • What type of car that is being insured
  • Prior auto insurance coverage
  • Driving record
  • How much you drive
  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Geographic location
  • How long you’ve been driving

Credit scores are not allowed to be a determining factor of your premium in the state of Massachusetts.

How to get cheapest insurance in Massachusetts

  • Compare your quotes from a variety of providers to ensure you’re getting the best coverage.
  • Ask about discounts like: good driver, good student, bundling packages, anti-theft devices, hybrid/electric car, and more.
  • Make sure you have the necessary coverage and eliminate what you don’t need.

While Massachusetts has some of the highest auto insurance in the United States, it pays off to make sure you’re aware of the laws. As always make sure you’re not losing out on money by comparing quotes and finding the best provider for you.


1 Choose a make to get car insurance discounts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *